You are here

How can I "default save" in Gimp 2.8 without exporting?

Wow, I'm seriously bummed out about some of the Gimp 2.8 features that I've been looking forward to since Gimp 2.4 was released. I used to be able to open 20 - 30 jpg files at once, do some minor adjustments, followed by saving each file immediately with the CTRL + S keys. When I try that with Gimp 2.8 the extension is added for me and I'm requested to save as a fresh file with that new extension ... tedious, annoying, and uncalled for since I create my own duplicates en masse if or when I need them.

Granted, I can by-pass that by exporting back to the old jpg file in the original archive ... but then I still have to initiate the export, verify the export, choose a save percentage, and finally close the newly created (???) image that's now appeared in place of my original, in my Gimp workspace.

Maybe I'm doing something wrong here, but I don't think so. It should be possible to tell Gimp which extension to use by default, as opposed to having an extension forced upon you whether you ever use those extensions, or not. Is there some way to make Gimp use the default .jpg or .png extension when I want to save an image, and if so, how? I'm using Gimp with Xubuntu 12.04 and CCSM.
Thanks.

Forums: 

This is the way Gimp now works. Of course you can consider this a PITA. But for other folks, losing work because they saved as JPG instead of XCF is also a PITA. The philosophy is that people that are impacted negatively by this change are people with very simple work-flows who would be better off using simpler software (XnView, Digikam, Lighttable...). OTOH I'm pretty sure will soon see on the Registry scripts to save files directly .

This reply was very helpful, thank you. I recently built a new machine and thought I'd give GIMP (another) try. It is clear I should (still) be using something else.

Bring on the registry scripts!

I think GIMP is great. But if I load a JPG, touch it up, and press Save, and then email it, I am more likely to erroneously send the unmodified JPG, 'cuz that's the file I was working on.
Sure, LibreOffice will warn you that you are not saving as ODF, but it will at least allow you to do it anyway.

:-(

That's why GIMP has the Overwrite menu entry, to support these secondary workflows.

There is also a Save+ Export script, that is my favourite solution

I need to both save and export the images that i edit, so more then be forced to learn and use the correct English terminology i need to do both in the most efficient way

So a script that does with a single click:
first save the xcf then export (with the same name and in the same folder ) as jpg and or as png.
(and it even does respecting the correct terminology ..)

Not sure if was published on this registry , but was discussed here
http://www.gimpchat.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=521

I don't get it. Personally I use a lot of the features of GIMP regularly but still have a "simple workflow" - i.e. I open an image, make a change and want to save it directly back to the original. Should I wish to export it to something else I will take those steps. The GIMP team has pretty much alienated a whole raft of users who will find this utterly unintuitive and a huge amount of excess work. It's a total deviation from a "normal" recognised workflow in just about any other application you can think of, and if you're losing work because you've saved to the wrong format you should take more care, not implement a whole different system so a large bulk of users now have a 600% increase in steps just to achieve a simple save. Suggesting people should use simpler software because their WORKFLOW is simpler is utterly misjudged.

If "this is the way GIMP is now" I won't be recommending it to anyone in future.

"... a "simple workflow" - i.e. I open an image, make a change and want to save it directly back to the original."

And how is this not supported by GIMP? If you open a JPEG file, the menu command "Overwrite yourfile.jpg" is immediately available. If you open PNG, the command is "Overwrite yourfile.png". Similarly for other file types.

This is hardly a "600% increase in steps" -- in fact, for your "simple workflow" there is often a reduction in the number of steps that were required in previous versions because you are no longer prompted upon each save as to whether you wish to merge layers, flatten the image, or save as an animation.

Worst case, there is one additional step: dismissing the changes that you've made to the image when closing. And this increase of one step is only if you save your file just once during your session and haven't added any alpha channels or layers/masks to the image.

I had the same problem. Thanks for this reply. Overwrite seems to work, but I see 3 little problems with it:

- It's not easy to find. I had to google this thread until I found it. Apparently the same for the OP and other posters here. I think it would be better placed next to "Save", that's where users expect it. Not a problem once you've found it, but making it more obvious, or perhaps giving a hint to it in the "Save" dialog might have spared you some angry posts here.

- It has no hotkey. That is an increase in steps for keyboard users. Fortunately it's fixable. (I just put it on Ctrl+S. Obviously, you won't do this by default :), but some other 2-key combination would be fine.)

- As you say, one more step dismissing changes. My workaround now is to terminate GIMP with Ctrl+C on the command line (where I usually start it) rather than properly. I know you won't like this, but it wouldn't be necessary if "Overwrite" would reset the modified-flag just like "Save" does. Please consider changing this.

PS: I'm using a Bugmenot-Account since I didn't easily find how to register on this web site. Normally, a site like this would have "Register" next to "Login". You may have different preferences (again), but it's not really user-friendly, unless you don't want comments in the first place ...

just look around (some have been advertised on the Registry IIRC) ... and you can even change the keyboard shortcuts so that Ctrl-S brings out the Export dialog.

Save should fit the metaphor most users are used to using, e.g. open Word document, edit it, Save it. I don't Export it to Word and use save to generate an XML. If I open a document in format X, I expect Save to save in format X.

Even if I can get used to using Export (assuming I remember to), I guarantee my wife won't. She'll Ctrl+S then wonder where her changes went. Don't say "But the dialog box says .XCF" because like most users, she doesn't read it. And I've worked in computer support, so I know from experience what users will do. Don't make life hard for them by changing the metaphor

If you move away from word processors, most programs that have a native file format use that format for saving. Audio editors save as their native project file, but you have to export to MP3 or OGG. CAD programs save to their native format, but you have to export to more graphical formats. Spreadsheets save to their native format, but you export to databases or CSV files. Video editors typically save projects to a native format but you need to export or render your video to a "publishable" format.

Certainly it's not always the case, but this approach appears often enough that GIMP's choice of behavior is far from being unreasonable, especially considering that GIMP is not a word processor.

Subscribe to Comments for "How can I "default save" in Gimp 2.8 without exporting?"